Skip to content

Are you a wise prod?

October 18, 2009

“I am certainly not one of those who need to be prodded. In fact, if anything, I am the prod.”

(Sir Winston Churchill)

.

www.freedigitalphotos.net Speaking of success and hardships – do they necessarily intertwine?

.

Is is possible to reach your goal without thrusting yourself forwards with all might, arrowing inexorably, looking straight ahead? Are there any shortcuts or workarounds ? Can great things be achieved easily?

.

……

.

My experience says no.

.

My history of “personal achievements” clearly states: “Want to get it? You’ll have to fight for it”.

.

…here is one of my favorite quotes:

.

Mathilda: Is life always this hard, or is it just when you’re a kid?
Léon: Always like this.

(From “Léon“)

.

Now I wonder, why does it have to be so hard?

.

First things first. The English language. It took me several years to acquire a few “mother tongues” though I owe neither motherland nor ethnic identity. “Citizen of the world” would probably say it all. But at some point I realized just how essential the English language is and sank my teeth into it. This was my first intellectual combat. I was ten.

.

Then things started rock-n-rolling in a more predictable way: getting a smaller coup here, a bigger one there. Falling and raising, losing and gaining. Every made mistake bringing me closer to success – no matter how banal and blatant is may sound.

.

Three iron rules have been threading my way all along –

  • Work like crazy.
  • Network like crazy.
  • Study like crazy.

In other words: it’s all or nothing.

.

Now allow me to introduce Mr. Doubt – my lifetime companion, always picking up the worst time to make sure I am sure. No wonder, I am never completely sure. Never taking a word for anything unless I feel, smell or taste the proof. In this case I doubt, whether it is a matter of wrong choice or bad luck.  When your boisterous activity seems to lead nowhere. When you can’t see through the intangible fog of uncertainty. When you keep revising the variables of your equation but find no errors: the subjects you study, the professions you follow, the people you hang around. But gyrating back and forth still doesn’t take you anywhere: it only makes your head spin.

.

When things get too tough, just let go – my inner voice sagely sings. Damn, inner voices are smart! Drop it. Dump it. If only for a day, an hour  or a minute but give yourself a chance to revise and amend. Running at full sails when you’re worn and unsteady is unwise: (here the “voicie” goes again). Sails are torn, your ship is cast onto the rocks. Frustrating and painful as much as it can be.

.

Fight, but don’t destroy it all. Fight, but choose your weapon carefully. Fight, but don’t get yourself killed. When the right words don’t fit into a melody, when people don’t reply to your emails, when your career is stuck and your college classes suck, this is an obvious sign of protest. Protest against running idle, mistakenly expecting a vital result.

.

There are times when things are getting just too unbearably hard, aren’t there? All you need is… rest up and think. Think hard. Alright, I’ll be consistent. Don’t think too hard but also don’t waste your time running idle. This is the worst it can be.

.

***

.

So here it comes again: can great things be achieved easily?

.

My experience says no.

.

But maybe I am wrong?

***

.

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

